FIFA Best Awards results: Luka Modric, Courtois, Deschamps, Salah all win – THE FULL LIST | Football | Sport



Luka Modric overcame the challenge of Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to be named the FIFA men’s player of the year.

The Real Madrid star, 33, was handed the gong at an awards ceremony in London, capping off a remarkable 12 months for the midfielder.

Modric played an integral role in Real Madrid’s third straight Champions League victory and then led Croatia to their first ever World Cup final.

In his speech, the former Spurs maestro thanked his team-mates and family in English, Spanish and Croatian, and said he was proud to receive this prize in front of FIFA’s deputy general secretary Zvonimir Boban, a star of Croatia’s 1998 World Cup side.

Modric’s win breaks the Lionel Messi-Ronaldo duopoly of the last 10 years and it follows his player of the tournament prize at Russia 2018 and UEFA player of the year accolade last month.

The emotional Croat said: ”It is a great honour and a beautiful feeling to stand here with this amazing trophy. First of all I would like to congratulate Mohamed and Cristiano.

“I am sure in the future you will have another opportunity to fight for this trophy.

“This award is not just mine. It is my teammates from Real Madrid and Croatia. Without my coaches I would not have won this. Without my family I would not be the player I am today.

“Thanks to my fans for all the great support and love they are showing me. It means a lot. Thanks to those who voted for me.

“I would just like to mention my footballing idol and former 1998 Croatia captain. He was my big inspiration and that team gave us belief we could create something in Russia.

“This award shows that we can all become the best with hard work and dedication. All your dreams can come true.”

Brazil’s Marta picked up her sixth FIFA women’s player of the year prize, beating Olympique Lyonnais duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan.

The 32-year-old, who now plays her club football for Orlando in the United States, has scored 110 goals for Brazil.

This, however, was her first world player-of-the-year accolade since 2010, although she has been runner-up three times since, and her emotion at winning the prize was obvious during her acceptance speech.

Olympique Lyonnais Feminin boss Reynald Pedros was named FIFA’s women’s coach of the year.

The Fifa Puskas Award (best goal) – MOHAMED SALAH

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool vs Everton)

The Best Fifa Men’s Coach – DIDIER DESCHAMPS

Didier Deschamps (France)

The Fifa Goalkeeper Award – THIBAUT COURTOIS

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium & Real Madrid)

Who voted for who at the FIFA Best Awards?

Player – (Selection 1, Selection 2, Selection 3)

Lionel Messi – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo

Eden Hazard – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Miranda – Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi

Luka Modric – Raphael Varane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann

Harry Kane – Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Kevin De Bruyne

Manuel Neuer – Eden Hazard, Luka Modric, Raphael Varane

Hugo Loris – Raphael Varane, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe

Giorgio Chiellini – Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah

Virgil van Dijk – Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne, Kylian Mbappe

Cristiano Ronaldo – Raphael Varane, Luka Modric, Antoine Griezmann

Robert Lewandowski – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Sergio Ramos – Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi

Roberto Martinez – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Lionel Messi

Gareth Southgate – Luka Modric, Raphael Varane, Eden Hazard

Didier Deschamps – Antoine Griezmann, Raphael Varane, Kylian Mbappe

Joachim Low – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Eden Hazard

Roberto Mancini – Cristiano Ronaldo, Kylian Mbappe, Luka Modric

Alex Mcleish – Mohamed Salah, Eden Hazard, Luka Modric

Luis Enrique – Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah

Ryan Giggs – Luka Modric, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo


Source link


Enjoy our news? Please spread the word :)